Welsh Highland Railway Heritage Group

Locate  -  Record  -  Preserve  -  Restore  -  Rebuild

Award for Tryfan Junction restoration

Welsh Highland Railway Heritage Group wins National Railway Heritage Award

The Welsh Highland Railway Heritage Group has won the Volunteers' Award in the 2014 National Railway Heritage Awards competition, for its extensive reconstruction of the 1877 Tryfan Junction Station building on the Welsh Highland Railway, in North Wales. The award was announced at the national awards ceremony in London on 3rd December 2014 and was presented to representatives from the Group by Sir Peter Hendy CBE, Commissioner Transport for London. It comes with a blue commemorative plaque and a cheque for 1500 towards the expense of restoration. The plaque will be erected and officially unveiled in 2015.

The Group’s chairman, Nick Booker said that “The winning of this prestigious award against stiff competition is a attribute to the vision of my predecessor in the chair, David Allan and the late John Keylock who sadly died just before the completion of the reconstruction. Without their determination and that of others, to ensure the heritage assets of the Welsh Highland Railway were and where possible restored, this important link with the past would have been lost. I must also pay tribute to Lewis Esposito who has skilfully undertaken much of the detailed restoration and reconstruction work and also to the many members and volunteers who have contributed their expertise, time and money to the project.”

The entire project was self-funded by the Group from activities such as publishing books, appeals for funds, and there were a number of bequests. Cymdeithas Rheilfordd Eryri/Welsh Highland Railway Society donated 4,000 and Llanwnda Community Council gave 500 towards the cost of reinstating the fireplace. The internal fixed benches, name sign and seat at the front were funded by individuals as memorials.

On the stage after the award - Picture by Duncan Phillips
On the stage after the award, showing left to right; Sir Peter Hendy CBE who presented the award; 
Michael Davies, founding member of the WHRHG; Nick Booker, chairman of the WHRHG;
John Ellis chairman of the Awards Committee (photo by Duncan Phillips)

Tryfan Junction 1964   Picture  by Barrie GreyTryfan Junction July 2014 - Lewis Esposito
Tryfan Junction as it was in 1964Tryfan Junction July 2014

For details of the restoration, see the Project page.

Home page                                           Site map